Frequently Asked Questions

How do I register for a class?
You must register for all classes at least 3 days before class is scheduled to start. You can register online and pay through Paypal or with a Credit Card. Another option is call/email/mail your contact information plus the class you are wanting to take and mail a check to:
Villages Folk School
P.O. Box 532
Keosauqua, Iowa 52565
When should I register for a class?
Register as soon as you know you will be able to attend. Most classes have a limited number of openings and fill up quickly. Registration deadline is 3 days prior to class. So if your class starts at 9am on Saturday, registration deadline is 9am on Wednesday.
Is there a certain number of students required to hold a class?
Yes, most classes must have at least 4 to 6 students to hold the class. If the class minimum is not met, the class is cancelled with a full refund given to the student or the option of moving their registration to the next available class. Classes are often offered twice or more a year.
Is there a minimum age requirement?
Yes, most classes have an 18 year old minimum age, but please feel free to call us with any questions on a younger student attending with an adult.
Can I make payments for my class fee?
100% of your class fee is due at the time of registration. However, if your Beginning Blacksmithing class is more than 18 months away, a $25 deposit can be made with the remainder due 45 days before class.
When is my deposit due?
Your deposit is due at Registration.
Will my deposit be refunded if I cancel my registration?
If you cancel at least 14 days before the class start date, your deposit will be fully refunded.Refunds will take 10-12 days depending on student payment method.
How may I pay for the classes?
Payments may be made with cash, check, or money order. We also accept payment through Pay Pal which includes a credit card option.
Checks and money orders mailed to:
Villages Folk School
P.O. Box 532
Keosauqua, Iowa 52565
How much is tuition and when is it due?
The costs will vary. Some classes have an additional materials charge, and for others the materials charge will be included in the tuition. 1/2 is due at registration, the balance is due at least 14 days before the class start date.
Are meals included in the tuition?
Meals are not included. You'll find several unique and yummy eateries within the county. See the Community page. You may also bring a sack lunch to most of the classes.
Do all classes charge material fees?
No. Some classes provide the materials, others have a supplies list that you will bring to class. Student supplied supplies and material lists for each class will be provided to students through individual mailings, as well as on the Villages Folk School website.
May I cancel my registration?
If you are unable to attend a class, please call 319-288-0047 immediately. Cancellations are allowed 14 days before class. You may also reschedule a registration twice before it becomes a donation.
May I change my registration from one class to another?
Yes, you can reschedule 14 days before a class without penalty. You may reschedule twice, but at that point if you cancel, the class fee becomes a donation to cover office costs of all the rescheduling.
Is there a cancellation fee?
Cancellations must be made 14 days prior to class. Cancellation within 14 days of class and the class fee becomes a donation, which is tax deductible since Villages Folk School is a 501(c)3 non-profit.
Can my guest come to the class with me without paying?
Sorry. Class space is limited, no guests unless registered.
Are the classes handicapped accessible?
Some of the class locations are and some are not handicapped accessible. Ask the registrar at the time of registration.
May I bring my service animal with me to the Folk School classes?
Well mannered seeing-eye dogs and hearing-ear dogs are allowed. Ask the registrar at the time of registration.